DAME honours Osoba, Momoh with Lifetime Awards

Chief Segun Osoba and Prince Tony Momoh are to receive this year's Lifetime Achievement awards at the 21st DAME, billed for Friday, December 14 at the Lagos Sheraton.

The two retired Times men distinguished themselves as news hunters and media managers. Osoba started as a reporter, rising to become editor of the Lagos Weekend and the Daily Times; general manager, Herald Newspaper, and managing director, Sketch Publishing Company and managing director of the Daily Times of Nigeria. Momoh, on the other hand, started out on the sub desk, was training manager, editor of Daily Times, general manager, publications, general manager, planning and development, and later the nation's Information minister.

Both are fellows of the Nigerian Guild of Editors. Osoba is particularly credited with the gift of breaking stories, turning around troubled media houses and continued relevance to the search for professional excellence as evidenced in his active participation at the Annual conferences of the Guild of Editors as conference chairman for the past several years.

Momoh, on his part, has been in the vanguard of elevating standards. He was active on the professional education circuit as secretary and president of the Nigerian Guild of Editors, chairman, National Registration Council of the Nigeria Union of Journalists. Under his watch as Information minister, the country had laws professionalizing journalism, advertising and public relations. He has also served on the boards of the Nigerian Press Council and the Nigerian Media Merit Award. He is a trustee of the Guild of Editors.

DAME, which prides itself as Africa's most consistent media award, bestows the lifetime award as the highest professional recognition on carefully-selected deserving professionals who have enriched media practice or scholarship.

That elite club includes seven living legends: Mr. Sam Amuka-Pemu, publisher of Vanguard; Hadj. Alade Odunewu, veteran columnist; Dr. Christopher Kolade, former director general of Radio Nigeria; Mr. Ted Mukoro, veteran broadcaster and advertising creative consultant; Alhaji Lateef Jakande, veteran leader writer and media administrator; Prince Henry Odukomaiya, foremost media manager and Mallam Mohammed Ibrahim, retired director general of both the FRCN and National Television Authority.

It also has six deceased Nigerians: Dr. Babatunde Jose, Chief Anthony Enahoro, Mallam Turi Muhammadu, Chief Segun Olusola, Mr. Alex Ibru and Professor Alfred Opubor.


Copyright © DAME AWARDS. All rights reserved.