DAME confers Lifetime Honours on Onajide, Adenaike on Saturday

The Diamond Awards for Media Excellence (DAME) will Saturday, November 23, honour two media veterans with Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 22nd edition of the award.

The awardees are Mrs. Omobola Onajide, Nigeria's first female graduate to work in a Nigerian television newsroom, and Mr. Felix Adenaike, former CEO Sketch Press Ltd and Editor-in-Chief of the Nigerian Tribune.

Omobola Onajide (née Akpata), a 1961 graduate of Public Administration, who joined the Western Nigeria Television Service (WNTS) as a sub editor in 1961, pioneered the establishment of Midwest Television in 1973, and was at various times chief information officer with the federal government, and special assistant, media to Vice President Alex Ekwueme.

Mr. Felix Adenaike started out as a teacher, rising to become a headmaster before crossing over to the civil service as an information officer. He later joined the Daily Times as a features and leader writer, served as senior correspondent with West Africa magazine in London, before joining Sketch Nigeria Limited as chief executive officer and editor-in-chief. From the Sketch, he crossed over to the Tribune as editor-in-chief before establishing his communications consultancy, Syndicated Communications. He also served as a visiting member of the Editorial Board of the Guardian.

Alongside the duo of Chief Segun Osoba and Mr. Peter Ajayi famously known as the three musketeers, Adenaike ensured that the viewpoints of western Nigeria were well articulated in the media. Widely nicknamed GOC (General Officer Commanding), he was known for his keen sense of personal and professional discipline.

The lifetime achievement award is DAME's highest honour and is conferred on outstanding professionals who have made lifelong contributions to the development of the media and the nation.

Previous winners of the DAME Lifetime Achievement Award include late Alhaji Babatunde Jose, Hadj. Alade Odunewu, Mallam Turi Muhammadu, Chief Segun Olusola, Chief Anthony Enahoro, Prof. Alfred Opubor and Mr. Alex Ibru.

The living icons are Mr. Sam Amuka, Dr. Christopher Kolade, Alhaji Lateef Jakande, Prince Henry Odukomaiya, Mallam Muhammed Ibrahim, Mr. Ted Mukoro, Chief Segun Osoba, and Prince Tony Momoh.

Practising journalists will receive awards in various categories spanning various genres of professional practice at a three hour event billed for the Lagos Sheraton Hotel.


Copyright © DAME AWARDS. All rights reserved.